On this page13 sections
Life Alert Emergency Response, Inc. of Encino, California has sold medical alert service since 1987 and holds an A+ BBB rating. It is legitimate. The tradeoff is cost and commitment. It does not publish prices, and New York's Attorney General found in 2021 that customers signed 36-month agreements at $49.95 to $89.95 a month plus about $198 upfront, and that Life Alert refused cancellations New York law allowed.
- Company
- Life Alert Emergency Response, Inc., 16027 Ventura Boulevard, Encino, California; selling medical alerts since 19871
- Price
- Not published; Life Alert quotes by phone. One month free when you pay a year in advance, per its site2
- Past contract terms
- 36-month monitoring agreement at $49.95 to $89.95 a month plus upfront fees and shipping (typically $198), $1,996.20 to $3,436.20 over the term, per the New York Attorney General in 20213
- Devices
- Micro Voice Pendant, wristband button, wall-mounted HELP button and HELP On-the-Go + GPS (AT&T cellular)4
- Fees Life Alert advertises
- Free use of equipment, free ground shipping, a price lock, and no hidden fees, per its cost page2
- Monitoring
- Company-owned 24/7 U.S.-based dispatch centers1
- Regulator record
- 2021 New York AG agreement: early cancellation for 5,500+ New Yorkers and refunds for 700+ who were refused the 7-day cancellation right3
Pros
- A+ BBB rating and BBB accreditation since 1987
- Company-owned U.S. dispatch centers
- In-home, wall button and GPS mobile options
- Waterproof buttons that can be worn in the shower
Cons
- No prices on the website; quote by phone only
- Has used 36-month contracts, per the New York AG
- Monthly cost reported at $49.95 to $89.95, above most rivals
- 2021 New York AG agreement over refused cancellations
Best for: Buyers who want a well-known brand with its own U.S. dispatch centers and are comfortable with a longer commitment after reading the contract.
Skip it if: You want posted prices, month-to-month service, or the option to cancel without a long contract.
Life Alert vs. competitors
| Company | Starting monthly price | Contract | Upfront cost | Prices posted online |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Life Alert | $49.95 to $89.95 (2021 NY AG figures) | 36 months (2021 NY AG) | About $198 (2021) | No |
| LifeFone | $24.95 (annual plan, landline) | None; cancel any time | $0 | Yes |
| Bay Alarm Medical | $27.95 (landline home) | No minimum stated | $0 for home; mobile devices $149 to $199 list | Yes |
| Medical Guardian | $27.95 | 3-month minimum | Guardian Flex $149.95 list; others leased | Yes |
Life Alert pricing at a glance
Life Alert costs as reported by the New York Attorney General (2021); current prices are quote only3
| Item | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly monitoring | $49.95 to $89.95 a month | Depends on the package; from contracts reviewed by the NY AG, 2014 to 2020 |
| Upfront fees and shipping | Typically $198 | Programming, installation and shipping charges |
| Contract length | 36 months | Customers were told they could not cancel early |
| Total over the term | $1,996.20 to $3,436.20 | Including the upfront fees |
| Prepaid annual plan (2026) | One month free | Life Alert's current site offer when you pay one year in advance |
| Current monthly price | Not published | Call 1-800-990-0595 for a quote |
Life Alert's website now says equipment and installation are free to use and that prices are locked, but it does not state a contract length or cancellation terms. Ask for the full service agreement before you pay.
Life Alert, step by step
Call for a quote
Life Alert sells by phone at 1-800-990-0595 and sends a brochure; there is no online checkout or price list.
Ask for the agreement first
Get the monthly price, total upfront fees, contract length and cancellation terms in writing before giving payment details.
Set up the equipment
Plug in the base unit or charge the mobile device and test the button with the dispatch center; Life Alert says no tools are needed.
Press the button in an emergency
A dispatcher answers through the device, sends help and stays on the line until it arrives.
Cancel in writing
Use any cancellation window your state gives you, keep proof of when you asked, and return the equipment as instructed.
Life Alert legitimacy and licensing
Yes. Life Alert Emergency Response, Inc. is based in Encino, California and has sold personal emergency response service since 1987. It runs its own 24/7 U.S.-based dispatch centers and is BBB accredited with an A+ rating, with 175 complaints in the last three years. Its slogan, “Help! I’ve fallen and I can’t get up,” made it the best-known name in the category.
Being legitimate is not the same as being a good deal. In March 2021 New York Attorney General Letitia James announced an agreement after finding that from at least January 2014 to February 2020 Life Alert did not tell more than 16,000 New Yorkers about their right to cancel within seven days, and refused cancellations. Life Alert agreed to let 5,500+ customers end their 36-month contracts early and to refund 700+ customers.
Life Alert cost
Life Alert does not list prices; its cost page asks you to call for a quote. The most recent public figures come from the New York Attorney General: customers paid $49.95 to $89.95 a month on a 36-month agreement, plus upfront programming, installation and shipping charges of typically $198, for a total of $1,996.20 to $3,436.20 over three years.
Today Life Alert advertises free use of equipment, free ground shipping, a price lock and one month free when you pay a year in advance. Because the site does not state a contract length, ask for the full agreement and the total you will pay over the term before you sign.
How Life Alert works
- Micro Voice Pendant: a wearable button with two-way voice, worn on the wrist or neck.
- Wristband button: a waterproof button connected to an in-home base unit.
- HELP button: a wall-mounted button for rooms where falls are likely, such as the bathroom.
- HELP On-the-Go + GPS: a mobile button that works away from home on AT&T’s cellular network where service is available.
When you press a button, a dispatcher assesses the situation, sends emergency services or calls your contacts, and stays on the line until help arrives. Life Alert’s site does not describe an automatic fall detection pendant, so ask whether one is available on your plan.
What customers say about Life Alert
Recurring themes across the review sites and complaint records listed above, not individual quotes.
Common praise
- Patient, friendly sales and support staff
- Clear explanations of how the system works
- Fast dispatch when the button is pressed
- A well-known, long-running brand
Common complaints
- Feeling pressured into add-ons during the sales call
- Long contracts that are hard to end early
- High total cost compared with month-to-month rivals
- Trouble getting equipment problems or account changes resolved
Life Alert complaints and what customers report
Life Alert’s Trustpilot score is 4.9 out of 5 from 1,595 reviews, most of them describing a pleasant sales call. The complaints that recur on Trustpilot and in the New York case are about the contract: feeling pushed into extra features, high total cost, and difficulty canceling before the term ends. BBB logged 175 complaints in three years.
- Ask for the contract length, the monthly fee and every one-time fee in writing.
- Have a family member on the call if the sales pitch feels rushed.
- Know your state’s cancellation window and use it if you change your mind.
- Keep the date and name of everyone you speak to about canceling.
Canceling Life Alert
Life Alert’s website does not publish its cancellation terms. Based on the 2021 New York findings, customers had signed 36-month agreements and Life Alert offered to lower payments or let them cancel only after six more months. Under New York General Business Law section 391-l, personal emergency response contracts must give a seven-day right to cancel, and the period does not start until you are told about it orally and in writing. If you live elsewhere, check with your state attorney general or consumer protection office, and if a cancellation is refused, file a complaint there and with the BBB.
Who should look elsewhere
If the alert is for a short recovery or a parent who may soon move into care, a three-year agreement is a poor fit. If you want automatic fall detection at a published price, LifeFone charges $5 a month more and Bay Alarm Medical and Medical Guardian charge $10. And if you want to compare costs before talking to a salesperson, choose a company that posts its prices online.
Alternatives to Life Alert
- LifeFone Posted prices from $24.95 a month, no equipment or activation fees and no contract. Read review
- Bay Alarm Medical Home service from $27.95 a month with no minimum term listed and a 15-day trial. Read review
- Medical Guardian Wider choice of mobile and watch devices with a 3-month minimum instead of years. Read review
- A smartwatch or phone with fall detection Some watches and phones can call 911 after a hard fall with no monthly fee, though no operator stays on the line.
Life Alert reviews
Written by readers, read by our moderators, never edited by the company.
No reader reviews yet. If you have used Life Alert, yours will be the first.
Write a reviewHow do I know I can trust these reviews about Life Alert?
- Every reviewer confirms an email address before a review can publish.
- Our moderators read every review before it publishes.
- Companies can respond publicly but can never edit, hide or remove a review.
- Paying BestGuide never changes the reader rating or which reviews publish.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Life Alert cost per month?
Life Alert does not publish prices. The New York Attorney General reported in 2021 that customers paid $49.95 to $89.95 a month plus about $198 upfront on 36-month agreements. Call Life Alert for a current quote and ask for the total over the full term.
Does Life Alert require a contract?
Historically, yes. The New York Attorney General found that customers had to sign 36-month monitoring agreements. Life Alert's current website does not state a contract length, so ask for the agreement before you pay.
Can you cancel Life Alert?
Life Alert does not post its cancellation terms. In New York you have seven days to cancel a personal emergency response contract, and in 2021 Life Alert agreed to let 5,500+ New York customers cancel early. Check your contract and your state's consumer laws.
Is Life Alert covered by Medicare?
Original Medicare generally does not cover medical alert systems. Some Medicare Advantage plans or state programs may help, so check with your plan.
Does Life Alert work outside the home?
Yes, with the HELP On-the-Go + GPS button, which uses AT&T cellular coverage. The in-home pendant and wall buttons only work within range of the base unit.
Does Life Alert have fall detection?
Life Alert's website does not list an automatic fall detection device. Ask the sales rep whether it is available and what it costs; competitors such as LifeFone and Bay Alarm Medical post fall detection prices.
Who answers Life Alert calls?
Life Alert says it owns and operates its own 24/7 U.S.-based dispatch centers, staffed by trained dispatchers who stay on the line until help arrives.
Is Life Alert better than LifeFone or Medical Guardian?
Life Alert has the best-known name and its own dispatch centers, but LifeFone, Bay Alarm Medical and Medical Guardian post prices from $24.95 to $27.95 a month and do not require multi-year contracts.
What is Life Alert's BBB rating?
A+. Life Alert Emergency Response, Inc. has been BBB accredited since October 22, 1987 and had 175 complaints in the last three years as of October 2026.
Does Life Alert need a landline?
Not necessarily. Life Alert offers landline or cellular base units, and its mobile GPS button uses AT&T's cellular network.
Sources (8)
Facts on this page come from company websites, government agencies and regulators, checked on the dates shown. Editorial standards
- Life Alert: About Life Alert (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Life Alert: Life Alert cost (accessed October 12, 2026)
- New York Attorney General: AG James secures refunds for Life Alert customers (March 30, 2021) (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Life Alert: Home page (devices and offer) (accessed October 12, 2026)
- BBB: Life Alert Emergency Response, Inc. (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Life Alert reviews (accessed October 12, 2026)
- LifeFone: Compare medical alert systems (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Medicare.gov: Durable medical equipment coverage (accessed October 12, 2026)
BestGuide is free to use. Some companies we review pay us when you visit their site or contact them through us. Compensation may influence which companies we feature and their order. It doesn't change what our reviews say. Advertising disclosure
