Skip to content
Some companies pay us when you click their button. Paying partners are labeled and can be listed first. Some companies pay us. Partners are labeled. Advertiser disclosure

Best Prepaid Phone Plans of 2026

Prepaid plans on the big three networks can cost half what carriers charge. Compare the all-in price, the network, data and hotspot limits, and check Lifeline first.

  • 7 companies compared, 3 removed
  • 11 sources cited
  • Prices checked October 2026
  • How we rate

If your income is limited, check the FCC's Lifeline program first; it takes up to $9.25 a month off phone service. Paying full price, Visible is the best prepaid value at $25 a month on Verizon's network with taxes included, US Mobile has the lowest yearly cost if you prepay a year, and Mint Mobile has the lowest intro price. Choose the network that works where you live, then compare the all-in price, the up-front term and the hotspot limit.

Our top picks
  1. Single lines and light to moderate users with good T-Mobile coverage who want a low bill they can change every month. Tello BestGuide Score: 4.5 out of 5. Set by our editorial team from published factors such as cost, credentials, reputation, customer experience, services and guarantees. Verified partners are scored on our partner verification program and can be listed first; they are always labeled BestGuide Partner.
  2. People with unlocked eSIM phones who use 10GB or less a month, or want unlimited data for $30, and are comfortable with app-only service. Helium Mobile BestGuide Score: 4.5 out of 5. Set by our editorial team from published factors such as cost, credentials, reputation, customer experience, services and guarantees. Verified partners are scored on our partner verification program and can be listed first; they are always labeled BestGuide Partner.
  3. Light to moderate data users who call family abroad and are willing to prepay several months. Gen Mobile BestGuide Score: 4.5 out of 5. Set by our editorial team from published factors such as cost, credentials, reputation, customer experience, services and guarantees. Verified partners are scored on our partner verification program and can be listed first; they are always labeled BestGuide Partner.
  4. Single-line or family users who want low-cost unlimited data, are comfortable setting up eSIM themselves and want to test which network works best where they live. US Mobile BestGuide Score: 4.3 out of 5. Set by our editorial team from published factors such as cost, credentials, reputation, customer experience, services and guarantees. Verified partners are scored on our partner verification program and can be listed first; they are always labeled BestGuide Partner.
  5. One person with good Verizon coverage who wants unlimited data for about $25 a month and is comfortable handling everything in an app. Visible BestGuide Score: 4.2 out of 5. Set by our editorial team from published factors such as cost, credentials, reputation, customer experience, services and guarantees. Verified partners are scored on our partner verification program and can be listed first; they are always labeled BestGuide Partner.

This guide is for anyone who wants a phone plan without a contract or a big carrier bill. Every pick runs on AT&T, T-Mobile or Verizon towers, so coverage can match the carriers for far less.

The catch is in the details. Some prices include taxes and some do not, some need a year paid up front, and "unlimited" hotspot often comes with a speed or data cap.

Below are our picks, a price table that shows which plans include taxes, a checklist for choosing, and how to apply for Lifeline. If you want carrier plans with phone deals and perks, see our best cell phone plans guide.

Lifeline discount
Up to $9.25 a month, or $34.25 on Tribal lands1
Lowest unlimited price among picks
About $16.58 a month (US Mobile, first year paid up front)3
Lowest month-to-month unlimited
$25 a month (Visible with taxes included; Tello plus taxes)2
Taxes included
Visible, US Mobile and Cricket Wireless (government taxes)7
On this page10 sections
  1. Our top picks
  2. Company reviews
  3. How we chose
  4. Start here: Lifeline discounts on phone service
  5. What prepaid plans cost, with and without taxes
  6. How to choose a prepaid plan
  7. What you give up with prepaid
  8. Red flags when shopping for prepaid
  9. Frequently asked questions
  10. Sources

Company reviews

Single lines and light to moderate users with good T-Mobile coverage who want a low bill they can change every month.: Tello

4.5/5

Why we picked it. Tello is a prepaid carrier on T-Mobile's network with build-your-own plans from $5 and unlimited for $25 a month (50GB high speed). Taxes and a small cost recovery fee are extra.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Plans from $5, and unlimited for $25 a month
  • No contract, activation fee or termination fee
  • Hotspot included on every plan
  • Free calls to 60+ countries with plans that include minutes
  • A+ BBB rating and 4.6 out of 5 on Trustpilot across 15,614 reviews

Cons

  • Only one network (T-Mobile)
  • Unlimited plan slows after 50GB
  • Taxes and a cost recovery fee are added to the advertised price
  • Some new numbers come with spam calls or verification-code problems
  • Activation and eSIM issues show up in reviews

People with unlocked eSIM phones who use 10GB or less a month, or want unlimited data for $30, and are comfortable with app-only service.: Helium Mobile

4.5/5

Why we picked it. Helium Mobile sells two no-contract plans, Air at $15 for 10GB and Infinity at $30 for unlimited data, on T-Mobile's network plus its own hotspots. Noble Mobile bought it in June 2026.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • $15 Air plan is cheap for 10GB of data
  • No contract, and you can cancel in the app
  • Uses T-Mobile's 5G network plus Helium hotspots
  • Cloud Points rewards you can spend on data and partner rewards
  • Scam Shield call blocking included

Cons

  • Taxes and fees are added to the advertised price
  • Only 5GB of hotspot, even on the $30 unlimited plan
  • Infinity speeds may slow after 36GB
  • Retired the free Zero plan in June 2026 and moved users who didn't act to the $15 plan
  • Mixed Trustpilot reviews and no BBB profile

Light to moderate data users who call family abroad and are willing to prepay several months.: Gen Mobile

4.5/5

Why we picked it. Gen Mobile, a Boost and EchoStar brand, sells prepaid plans from $10 a month with free calling to 100+ countries and up to 25% off when you pay 12 months ahead.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 2 GB plan for $10 a month with no bundle needed
  • Up to 25% off when you prepay 3 to 12 months
  • Unlimited calling to 100+ countries on every plan
  • Hotspot included on 8 GB plans and up
  • No contract, credit check or early termination fee

Cons

  • Unlimited plan costs more than Visible, Mint or Tello
  • Network not named on the plan page
  • Refund window is only 7 days and only for online purchases
  • Taxes and fees not stated on the plan page
  • Frequent complaints about phones it sells and support
Show all 5 picks2 more, ranked 4 to 5

Single-line or family users who want low-cost unlimited data, are comfortable setting up eSIM themselves and want to test which network works best where they live.: US Mobile

4.3/5

Why we picked it. US Mobile resells Verizon, T-Mobile and AT&T coverage from $25 a month for unlimited, taxes included. Trustpilot reviews are strong, but the BBB rates it F with 101 complaints in three years.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Choice of Verizon, T-Mobile or AT&T networks, with switching in the app
  • Taxes and fees included in the price
  • Cheap unlimited plans, especially on the first year of an annual plan
  • Free 30-day trial for eligible new customers
  • Strong Trustpilot rating and 24/7 chat and phone support

Cons

  • F rating from the BBB with 101 complaints in three years
  • No stores; activation, porting and problems are handled online or by phone
  • Starter plans are deprioritized and slow after 70GB on Warp and Light Speed
  • Annual plan intro prices rise at renewal
  • No multi-line discounts

One person with good Verizon coverage who wants unlimited data for about $25 a month and is comfortable handling everything in an app.: Visible

4.2/5

Why we picked it. Visible is Verizon's prepaid brand: unlimited data from $25 a month with taxes and fees included. Support is chat only, and the BBB rates Visible Service, LLC a D with 706 complaints in 3 years.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Unlimited data, talk and text on Verizon from $25 a month with taxes and fees included
  • 15-day free trial on eSIM phones, no credit card
  • Unlimited hotspot on every plan
  • Priority data and 5G Ultra Wideband on Visible+ from $30 a month with code 5OFF5
  • No contract on monthly plans

Cons

  • BBB rating of D with 706 complaints in 3 years
  • Support by chat only, with no published phone number
  • Base plan data can be slowed when the network is busy, and video is capped at 480p
  • One line per account, with no family discount
  • Hotspot capped at 5 Mbps on the base plan
Companies we removed from this list
  • PureTalk: Not ranked this round because its live site blocked our checks. Archived pages from October 1, 2026 show plans from $24.99 for 7GB and unlimited from $34.99, plus taxes, and a money-back guarantee that ends at your next bill date or after 500 minutes or 500MB, whichever comes first. See our PureTalk review for details.
  • Noble Mobile: Its official site returned errors when we checked, so we could not verify its current plan price and terms.
  • Lyca Mobile: Its plan page did not state hotspot limits, the network or whether taxes are included, and listed promotional prices we could not reconcile, so we left it out of this update.

How we chose

We compared 7 prepaid phone companies we review on listed monthly price, whether taxes and fees are included, host network, high-speed data limits, hotspot allowance and payment terms, using each company's plan pages and Broadband Facts labels checked October 2026, plus the FCC's Lifeline rules. We ranked picks by value for a single line paying full price: a low all-in monthly cost, a named major network and clear limits first, then up-front terms and extras. Visible leads because its $25 price includes taxes on Verizon's network with no prepay. US Mobile is second for the lowest yearly cost but needs a year up front. Mint follows for its intro price, Tello for small plans, Cricket for stores and included taxes, Helium for low prices with fewer published details, and Gen Mobile for capped plans. We did not run coverage or speed tests. Read our full methodology.

Start here: Lifeline discounts on phone service

If money is tight, check whether you qualify for Lifeline, an FCC program that cuts the monthly bill for phone or internet service from participating providers.

  • Discount: up to $9.25 a month, or up to $34.25 on Tribal lands.
  • Who qualifies: households at or below 135% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines, or households in SNAP, Medicaid, Federal Public Housing Assistance, SSI, Veterans Pension benefits or certain Tribal programs.
  • Limits: one Lifeline benefit per household.
  • How to apply: through the National Verifier at lifelinesupport.org, by mail, or through a participating provider.

Lifeline works with prepaid service from participating companies, so check the provider list before you buy a plan at full price. Paying full price? Compare carrier plans too in our best cell phone plans guide.

What prepaid plans cost, with and without taxes

Company Lowest unlimited price listed Taxes and fees Hotspot
US Mobile $199 first year (about $16.58 a month), then $270 Included 20 GB
Mint Mobile $10 a month for 6 months (intro), $30 a month on 12 months Extra Up to 20 GB
Visible $25 a month Included Unlimited at 5 Mbps
Tello Mobile $25 a month Extra 10 GB
Helium Mobile $30 a month Extra Not published
Cricket Wireless $35 a month with AutoPay Government taxes included Add-on
Gen Mobile $38 a month on 12 months, $50 month to month Not stated Up to 10 GB

Prices as listed October 2026. When taxes are extra, expect the total to be higher than the listed price; the amount depends on your state and city.

How to choose a prepaid plan

  1. Pick the network first. Prepaid brands borrow AT&T, T-Mobile or Verizon towers. Choose the one with the best signal where you live and work.
  2. Compare the all-in price. Visible, US Mobile and Cricket include taxes. Mint, Tello and Helium add them at checkout.
  3. Check the payment term. The lowest prices from US Mobile, Mint and Gen Mobile need 3 to 12 months paid up front, and renewal prices can be higher.
  4. Count your data. If you use under 10 GB a month, a capped plan from Tello, Helium or Gen Mobile costs less than unlimited.
  5. Check hotspot limits. “Unlimited” phone data rarely means unlimited fast hotspot. Look for the GB or speed cap.
  6. Read the Broadband Facts label. Every mobile broadband plan must show one, with the price, fees, data limits and typical speeds.

What you give up with prepaid

Prepaid brands cost less because they pay the big carriers for network access and spend less on stores and perks. The trade-offs:

  • Slower data when towers are busy. Most prepaid plans are deprioritized behind the carrier’s own customers.
  • Lower video quality. Visible’s base plan, Mint and Cricket’s Select plan limit video to SD or 480p.
  • Online support. Most brands sell online and through apps; Cricket is the main exception with stores.
  • Up-front payments. Multi-month plans lock in the price but you pay it all at once.

Red flags when shopping for prepaid

  • An intro price with no renewal price shown next to it.
  • A plan page that does not name the network or the hotspot limit.
  • “Unlimited” plans with no number for when data slows. The Broadband Facts label should say.
  • Sites offering a “free government phone” that ask for your Social Security number before you have confirmed they are a Lifeline provider. Use lifelinesupport.org to check.

Terms to know

Prepaid
Phone service you pay for before the month or term starts.
MVNO
A mobile virtual network operator, a brand that sells service on another company's cell network.
Lifeline
An FCC program that discounts phone or internet service for eligible low-income households.
Deprioritization
When a carrier slows some customers' data during congestion to keep the network running.
Hotspot
Using your phone's data connection to get a laptop or tablet online.
Broadband Facts label
An FCC-required label showing a plan's price, fees, data limits and typical speeds.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best prepaid phone plan?

For most people, Visible is our top pick: unlimited data on Verizon's network for $25 a month with taxes and fees included, as listed October 2026. If you can pay for a year up front, US Mobile's Unlimited Starter costs about $16.58 a month in the first year, also with taxes included.

Can I get a free or discounted prepaid plan?

If your household income is at or below 135% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines, or you take part in programs like SNAP, Medicaid or SSI, you may qualify for Lifeline. It takes up to $9.25 a month off phone or internet service, or up to $34.25 on Tribal lands. Apply through lifelinesupport.org or a participating provider.

Which prepaid plans include taxes in the price?

Visible and US Mobile include taxes and fees in the listed price, and Cricket includes government taxes. Mint Mobile, Tello and Helium Mobile add taxes and fees on top. Gen Mobile's plan page does not say.

What is the cheapest prepaid unlimited plan?

Mint Mobile's intro offer is $10 a month for 6 months for new customers, and US Mobile's Unlimited Starter is $199 for the first year. Both require paying up front and renew at higher prices. The lowest month-to-month unlimited prices among our picks are Visible and Tello at $25.

Which prepaid plan has the best hotspot?

Visible includes unlimited hotspot data on every plan, but the base plan caps hotspot speed at 5 Mbps. US Mobile Unlimited Premium includes unlimited hotspot on its Dark Star network, and Mint and US Mobile Starter include 20 GB.

Do prepaid plans use the same networks as AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon?

Yes. Visible uses Verizon's network, Cricket uses AT&T's and Mint uses T-Mobile's, per each company. Prepaid customers may get slower data than the carrier's own customers when a tower is busy.

Is prepaid cheaper than postpaid?

Usually, for one or two lines. Our prepaid picks list unlimited plans from about $16.58 to $50 a month, while T-Mobile's postpaid Essentials Saver is $55 for one line before AutoPay. Carrier plans get cheaper per line with three or more lines.

Do prepaid plans need a credit check or contract?

No pick requires an annual service contract. Prepaid plans are paid before the month starts, so you are not billed later for service.

Can I keep my number when I switch to prepaid?

Yes. You can move your number to a new carrier. Keep your old line active until the transfer finishes, and have your account number and transfer PIN ready.

Sources (11)

Facts on this page come from company websites, government agencies and regulators, checked on the dates shown. Editorial standards

  1. FCC: Lifeline Support for Affordable Communications (accessed October 12, 2026)
  2. Visible: Plans (accessed October 12, 2026)
  3. US Mobile: Plans (accessed October 12, 2026)
  4. Mint Mobile: Unlimited data phone plans (accessed October 12, 2026)
  5. Mint Mobile: How it works, plans (accessed October 12, 2026)
  6. Tello: Build your own plan (accessed October 12, 2026)
  7. Cricket Wireless: Cell phone plans (accessed October 12, 2026)
  8. Helium Mobile: Plans (accessed October 12, 2026)
  9. Gen Mobile: Plans (accessed October 12, 2026)
  10. FCC: Broadband Labels (accessed October 12, 2026)
  11. T-Mobile: Essentials plans (accessed October 12, 2026)
How we make money

BestGuide is free to use. Some companies on this page pay us when you visit their site or contact them through us. Compensation, along with our editorial review, may influence which companies we feature and the order they appear in. It doesn't change what our reviews say. Advertising disclosure