On this page13 sections
Gen Mobile's small and mid-size plans are cheap when you prepay, from $10 for 2 GB to $16 a month for 8 GB on a 12-month bundle, and every plan includes unlimited calling to 100+ countries. It is a legitimate prepaid carrier: it is a division of Boost SubscriberCo, part of EchoStar, and an authorized Lifeline provider in 42 states. Its unlimited plan ($38 to $50 a month) costs more than Visible or Mint, the plan page doesn't name the network, and reviews on Trustpilot and the BBB point to weak support and low-quality phones. Bring your own unlocked phone if you can.
- Company
- Gen Mobile, a division of Boost SubscriberCo L.L.C., part of EchoStar Corporation (Nasdaq: SATS)2
- Plans
- 2 GB $10, 8 GB $20, 15 GB $30, 25 GB $40, Unlimited $50 a month, month to month, as listed October 20261
- Prepay discounts
- 10% to 25% off for 3, 6 or 12 months paid up front; Unlimited is $38 a month on 12 months ($450 total)1
- Unlimited plan
- 45 GB of high-speed data, then up to 512 kbps; up to 10 GB hotspot1
- International
- Unlimited calling from the US to 100+ destinations on every plan1
- Network
- Not named; Gen Mobile says it runs on one of America's largest 5G networks1
- Refunds
- 7-day money-back guarantee on service bought at genmobile.com, minus shipping3
- Lifeline
- Authorized Lifeline provider in 42 states, plus California LifeLine4
Pros
- 2 GB plan for $10 a month with no bundle needed
- Up to 25% off when you prepay 3 to 12 months
- Unlimited calling to 100+ countries on every plan
- Hotspot included on 8 GB plans and up
- No contract, credit check or early termination fee
Cons
- Unlimited plan costs more than Visible, Mint or Tello
- Network not named on the plan page
- Refund window is only 7 days and only for online purchases
- Taxes and fees not stated on the plan page
- Frequent complaints about phones it sells and support
Best for: Light to moderate data users who call family abroad and are willing to prepay several months.
Skip it if: You want the cheapest unlimited plan or a carrier that names its network and includes taxes.
Gen Mobile vs. competitors
| Company | Unlimited price per month | Network | High-speed data | Hotspot |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gen Mobile | $50; $38 on 12 months | Not named | 45 GB, then 512 kbps | Up to 10 GB |
| Mint Mobile | $30 on 12 months, plus tax | T-Mobile | May slow after 50 GB | Up to 20 GB |
| Tello Mobile | $25, plus taxes | Not named | 50 GB, then slower | 10 GB |
| Visible | $25, taxes and fees included | Verizon | Unlimited | Unlimited at up to 5 Mbps |
| US Mobile | $16.58 ($199 first year), taxes included | Three networks, switchable | Unlimited (Starter) | 20 GB (Starter) |
Gen Mobile pricing at a glance
Gen Mobile plans, price per month, as listed October 20261
| Plan | 1 month | 3 months | 6 months | 12 months | Hotspot |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2 GB | $10 | $10 | $10 | $10 | Not listed |
| 8 GB | $20 | $18 | $17 | $16 | Up to 5 GB |
| 15 GB | $30 | $27 | $26 | $24 | Up to 10 GB |
| 25 GB | $40 | $36 | $34 | $32 | Up to 10 GB |
| Unlimited (45 GB high speed) | $50 | $43 | $40 | $38 | Up to 10 GB |
Multi-month plans are paid up front: Unlimited on 12 months is $450. Taxes and fees are not stated on the plan page. Add-ons: $5 data, $5 international talk credit, Canada and Mexico roaming credit.
Gen Mobile, step by step
Check your phone
Run your phone's IMEI through Gen Mobile's compatibility checker. It must be carrier unlocked, paid off and not reported lost or stolen.
Pick a plan and term
Choose a data size and pay for 1, 3, 6 or 12 months. Longer terms cost less per month but are paid up front.
Port your number
Have your old account number, porting PIN and address ready. Keep the old line active until the transfer finishes.
Activate
Insert the SIM or download the eSIM and activate online or in the MyGenMobile app.
Refund or leave
If you bought online, call Care within 7 days for a refund of unused service. There's no contract or early termination fee.
Gen Mobile legitimacy and licensing
Yes. Gen Mobile is a prepaid brand that its site calls a division of Boost SubscriberCo L.L.C. and part of EchoStar Corporation, which also owns Boost Mobile, DISH TV and Sling TV. It is an authorized Lifeline provider in 42 states. The BBB rates it A+ but it is not accredited, and its BBB file shows 61 complaints in three years.
On June 30, 2026, EchoStar’s DISH DBS and DISH Wireless units filed a prepackaged Chapter 11 case. EchoStar said its Boost Mobile and Gen Mobile brands are not part of the case, and Gen Mobile was still selling plans in October 2026.
Gen Mobile plans and pricing
Gen Mobile sells five plans: 2 GB for $10, 8 GB for $20, 15 GB for $30, 25 GB for $40 and Unlimited for $50 a month. Paying 3, 6 or 12 months ahead cuts the price by 10% to 25%. The 8 GB plan drops to $16 a month and Unlimited to $38 a month on a 12-month bundle, but you pay the full $192 or $450 at checkout.
Unlimited gives 45 GB of high-speed data, then slows to 512 kbps. Every plan includes unlimited nationwide talk and text and unlimited calling to 100+ countries. Gen Mobile lists a 10% AutoPay discount in its FAQ topics; check how it applies at checkout.
What network does Gen Mobile use?
Gen Mobile’s plan and coverage pages say it runs on “one of America’s largest 5G networks” but don’t name the carrier. Its Lifeline FAQ says it works with most unlocked GSM phones from AT&T, T-Mobile, Cricket, Metro, Mint and others. Use the coverage map and IMEI checker on its site before you switch.
What customers say about Gen Mobile
Recurring themes across the review sites and complaint records listed above, not individual quotes.
Common praise
- Low prices on small and mid-size plans
- Simple sign-up and quick delivery
- Dependable coverage in most areas
- Free international calling for families abroad
Common complaints
- Phones sold by Gen Mobile that lag, overheat or drain the battery
- Hard-to-reach or unhelpful customer support
- Devices that arrive defective or fail soon after
- Confusion over data limits on Lifeline and discount plans
Gen Mobile Lifeline service
Gen Mobile offers free talk, text and data to households that qualify for Lifeline in 42 states and through California LifeLine. You qualify through income at or below 135% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines or through programs such as Medicaid, SNAP or SSI. Only one Lifeline benefit is allowed per household, and you must use the service at least once every 30 days to keep it. A free phone is subject to availability.
Gen Mobile complaints and how to avoid problems
BBB complaints are mostly about service and repair problems. Trustpilot reviews split between happy budget users and people unhappy with phones bought from Gen Mobile and with support. To avoid the common problems:
- Bring your own unlocked phone instead of buying a low-end device.
- Test coverage in the first 7 days, when the online refund applies.
- Check your data allowance in the app, especially on Lifeline plans.
- Keep your old line active until the number transfer completes.
Cancellation and refunds
Gen Mobile is prepaid, so there is no contract or early termination fee. If you bought service at genmobile.com and are unhappy in the first 7 days, call Customer Care at (833) 528-1380 to open a return ticket; Gen Mobile refunds unused service and any activation fee, minus shipping. Service bought from retailers falls under the retailer’s policy. Prepaid multi-month bundles are not refunded after that window.
Alternatives to Gen Mobile
- Tello Mobile Cheaper unlimited data month to month if you don't need prepaid bundles. Read review
- Visible Named network (Verizon) and taxes included at $25 a month. Read review
- Mint Mobile Lower unlimited price when you prepay 12 months, on T-Mobile. Read review
- Lifeline If your household qualifies, the FCC's Lifeline program can make service free or cut up to $9.25 a month; apply at lifelinesupport.org or through a provider.
Gen Mobile reviews
Written by readers, read by our moderators, never edited by the company.
No reader reviews yet. If you have used Gen Mobile, yours will be the first.
Write a reviewHow do I know I can trust these reviews about Gen Mobile?
- Every reviewer confirms an email address before a review can publish.
- Our moderators read every review before it publishes.
- Companies can respond publicly but can never edit, hide or remove a review.
- Paying BestGuide never changes the reader rating or which reviews publish.
Frequently asked questions
Is Gen Mobile a good phone company?
It's a good value for small and mid-size plans paid in advance, and for international calling. Support and the phones it sells get frequent complaints, so bring your own phone if you can.
Who owns Gen Mobile?
Gen Mobile's site says it is a division of Boost SubscriberCo L.L.C. and part of EchoStar Corporation, the parent of Boost Mobile and DISH.
Is Gen Mobile shutting down?
No. Gen Mobile was still selling plans in October 2026. EchoStar said its Boost Mobile and Gen Mobile brands are outside the June 2026 DISH DBS and DISH Wireless Chapter 11 case.
Which carrier network is Gen Mobile on?
Gen Mobile doesn't name it, saying only that it uses one of America's largest 5G networks. Check its coverage map before you switch.
How much is Gen Mobile per month?
From $10 for 2 GB to $50 for Unlimited month to month. Prepaying 12 months lowers Unlimited to $38 a month ($450 up front).
Does Gen Mobile include international calling?
Yes. Every plan includes unlimited calling from the US to 100+ destinations. Roaming in Canada and Mexico is a separate credit.
Is Gen Mobile Lifeline free?
For qualifying households, Gen Mobile offers free talk, text and data through Lifeline in 42 states. You must qualify by income or a benefit program and use the service every 30 days.
Can I keep my number with Gen Mobile?
Yes. You'll need your account number, porting PIN and address from your current carrier, and the old line must stay active until the transfer finishes.
Does Gen Mobile have a refund policy?
Service bought on genmobile.com has a 7-day money-back guarantee for unused service and activation fees, minus shipping. Retail purchases follow the store's policy.
Does Gen Mobile have hotspot?
Yes, on the 8 GB plan (up to 5 GB) and on the 15 GB, 25 GB and Unlimited plans (up to 10 GB).
Sources (11)
Facts on this page come from company websites, government agencies and regulators, checked on the dates shown. Editorial standards
- Gen Mobile: Plans (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Gen Mobile: About us (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Gen Mobile: Return policy (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Gen Mobile: Lifeline program (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Gen Mobile: FAQs (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Gen Mobile: 5G coverage (accessed October 12, 2026)
- BBB: Gen Mobile (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Gen Mobile reviews (accessed October 12, 2026)
- App Store: MyGenMobile App (accessed October 12, 2026)
- FCC: Lifeline support for affordable communications (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Light Reading: Dish turns to Chapter 11 (July 2026) (accessed October 12, 2026)
BestGuide is free to use. Some companies we review pay us when you visit their site or contact them through us. Compensation may influence which companies we feature and their order. It doesn't change what our reviews say. Advertising disclosure
