On this page14 sections
- Ratings and complaints
- Lyca Mobile vs. competitors
- Pricing
- Step by step
- Lyca Mobile legitimacy and licensing
- Lyca's 2026 network change
- Lyca Mobile plans and prices
- International calling and roaming
- Complaints and how to avoid problems
- Cancelling and refunds
- Who should skip Lyca Mobile
- What customers say
- Alternatives
- FAQ
Lyca Mobile is a good fit if you call abroad often and can handle self-service; check that your phone works on the new network first. It is a legitimate prepaid carrier run by Lyca Mobile USA, Inc. of Newark, New Jersey, and its main draw is unlimited calls and texts to 100 countries plus Mexico and Canada on every plan. The big change is the network: Lyca stopped activating its old T-Mobile SIMs in September 2025 and required customers to swap SIMs by April 15, 2026, with industry reports naming AT&T as the new host. Reviews are split, with a 3.0 on Trustpilot and a 2.1 for the iPhone app, and complaints center on support, eSIM activation and number transfers.
- Company
- Lyca Mobile USA, Inc., 24 Commerce Street, Suite 100, Newark, New Jersey1
- Network
- Lyca names only a "Network Supplier"; it ended activations of its T-Mobile SIMs on September 20, 2025 and set an April 15, 2026 SIM swap deadline; trade reports say it signed with AT&T5
- Plans
- 30-day prepaid plans from $19 (5 GB) to $39 (25 GB), plus Unlimited Plus and Unlimited Pro with 50 GB at full speed1
- Unlimited pricing
- Unlimited Plus $49 regular, $18 discounted; Unlimited Pro $59 regular, $29.50 discounted, per Lyca's 2026 plan guide2
- International
- Unlimited talk and text to 100 countries, including Mexico and Canada, on its main plans2
- Fees
- 5% regulatory recovery fee on all website purchases, including auto-recharges1
- Inactivity
- SIM and phone number expire after 60 days of non-use1
- Contract
- None; prepaid, no credit check1
Pros
- Unlimited talk and text to 100 countries on every main plan
- Low introductory prices on 30-day plans
- No contract or credit check
- eSIM and Wi-Fi calling supported
- Replies to 95% of negative Trustpilot reviews
Cons
- 2026 network switch forced SIM swaps, and older phones may not work
- Introductory discounts end, and the length is not stated on the plan page
- 5% recovery fee on website purchases
- Number and SIM deactivated after 60 days without use
- Weak app and support ratings, 2.1 on the App Store
Best for: People who call or text family abroad every week and want a cheap 30-day prepaid plan with that built in.
Skip it if: You need dependable phone support, rely on an older phone, or rarely call internationally.
Lyca Mobile vs. competitors
| Company | Network | Cheapest plan | Unlimited plan | International calling | How you pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lyca Mobile | Moved off T-Mobile in 2026; reported AT&T | $19 for 5 GB | $49 regular, $18 discounted | 100 countries plus Mexico and Canada | Every 30 days |
| Ultra Mobile | T-Mobile | $19 for 4 GB (1 month) | $49 (1 month) | 90+ destinations; Mexico and Canada on most plans | 1, 3, 6 or 12 months |
| Mint Mobile | T-Mobile | $15 a month on a 12-month plan | $30 a month on a 12-month plan | Prepay 3, 6 or 12 months | |
| Visible | Verizon | $25 a month | $25 a month | Monthly |
Lyca Mobile pricing at a glance
Lyca Mobile 30-day plans, as listed October 20261
| Plan | Price per 30 days | High-speed data | Hotspot | International |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $19 Unlimited International | $19 ($10 online offer shown) | 5 GB | Not listed | 100 countries |
| $23 Unlimited International | $23 ($15 online offer shown) | 8 GB | 8 GB | 100 countries, $5 roaming credit |
| $29 Unlimited International | $29 | 15 GB | 10 GB | 100 countries, $5 roaming credit |
| $33 High Data | $33 ($7.50 online offer shown) | 18 GB | 10 GB | 100 countries |
| $39 Unlimited International | $39 | 25 GB | 10 GB | 100 countries |
| Unlimited Plus | $49 ($18 discounted) | 50 GB, then slower | 15 GB | 100 countries, $10 bonus credit |
| Unlimited Pro | $59 ($29.50 discounted) | 50 GB, then slower | 25 GB | 100 countries, $15 bonus credit |
Discounted prices are introductory and Lyca does not state on the plan page how many months they last; offer terms at the time you activate apply. A 5% regulatory recovery fee is added to website purchases, plus taxes. Hotspot and credit amounts are from Lyca's 2026 plan guide and can differ from the live plan page.
Lyca Mobile, step by step
Check your phone
Your phone must be unlocked and compatible with Lyca's current network. Older phones that worked on the T-Mobile SIM may not work after the 2026 switch.
Pick a plan
Choose a 30-day plan by data and international needs. Unlimited Plus and Pro give 50 GB at full speed and larger hotspot allowances.
Get a SIM or eSIM
Order a physical SIM or eSIM from lycamobile.us. Activate by dialing 622 and entering your ZIP code, or online.
Port your number
Have your old carrier's account number and transfer PIN ready. Number transfers are a common complaint, so keep the old line active until the port completes.
Recharge every 30 days
Plans expire after 30 days. Turn on auto-renew or recharge manually, and use the line at least every 60 days so the SIM and number are not deactivated.
Leaving Lyca
There is no contract. Port your number to the new carrier before your plan expires; credit balances are not refunded if a SIM is deactivated.
Lyca Mobile legitimacy and licensing
Yes. Lyca Mobile USA, Inc. is a prepaid wireless carrier based at 24 Commerce Street in Newark, New Jersey, and part of the international Lyca group. It sells SIM-only plans with no contract and no credit check.
Its reputation is mixed. On Trustpilot it averages 3.0 out of 5 from 11,891 reviews, with 61% five star and 25% one star, and the company replies to most negative reviews. The Lyca Mobile US iPhone app scores 2.1 from 700 ratings. We could not find a current BBB profile for the U.S. company.
Lyca's 2026 network change
For years Lyca ran on T-Mobile, and its terms of service still refer to T-Mobile devices. That changed after a dispute with T-Mobile: according to the wireless dealer group NWIDA, Lyca told dealers that activations of its existing SIMs would end on September 20, 2025, and later set a March 19, 2026 cutoff for customers still on T-Mobile, extended to April 15, 2026, so they could replace their SIM cards. Lyca has not named the new host on its website, which refers only to its “Network Supplier,” but trade reports say Lyca signed an agreement with AT&T.
If you are a current customer who never received a new SIM, contact Lyca right away. If you are switching to Lyca, confirm your phone is unlocked and supports the new network before you buy.
Lyca Mobile plans and prices
Lyca sells 30-day prepaid plans. The named plans run from $19 for 5 GB to $39 for 25 GB, all with unlimited U.S. talk and text and unlimited talk and text to 100 countries. Unlimited Plus and Unlimited Pro include 50 GB at full speed, then slower data; Lyca’s 2026 plan guide lists them at $49 and $59 regular prices, discounted to $18 and $29.50.
Some plans show much lower online offers, such as $7.50 for the $33 High Data plan. Lyca’s fine print says offer terms at the time of activation apply, but the plan page does not say how long the discount lasts, so ask before you buy. All website purchases carry a 5% regulatory recovery fee.
What customers say about Lyca Mobile
Recurring themes across the review sites and complaint records listed above, not individual quotes.
Common praise
- Low prices, especially during introductory offers
- Unlimited calls and texts to 100 countries without an add-on
- Quick online sign-up and easy top-ups
- Network works well for some users in cities
Common complaints
- Hard to reach a helpful support agent
- eSIM activation delays, especially around the 2026 SIM swap
- Number transfers that stall or fail
- Weak signal or dropped service in some areas
- Confusing plan expiration dates
International calling and roaming
International calling is the reason most people choose Lyca. The main plans include unlimited talk and text to 100 countries, including Mexico and Canada, and some include a $5 or larger credit for roaming or calls to countries not on the list. Calls to other Lyca numbers abroad are unlimited only when neither phone is roaming. Check the country list on the plan page before you switch.
Complaints and how to avoid problems
The repeat complaints are support that is hard to reach, eSIM activations that hang, number transfers that fail and coverage gaps. Several spiked around the 2026 SIM swap. To limit the risk, keep your old line active until your number has ported, take screenshots of your plan and expiration date, and set auto-renew so your line does not lapse. Lyca’s customer service number is 1-(866) 277-3221. You can file an unresolved service complaint with the FCC at consumercomplaints.fcc.gov.
Cancelling and refunds
There is nothing to cancel in the usual sense: Lyca is prepaid, so you stop recharging or port your number to another carrier. Port before your plan expires, because the SIM and number expire after 60 days without use. Lyca’s terms say you are not entitled to a refund of any credit balance if your SIM is deactivated, so use up credit first.
Who should skip Lyca Mobile
If you rarely call abroad, a plan like Mint or Visible gives more value per dollar. If you need someone to pick up the phone when something breaks, Lyca’s support record is a risk. And if your phone is older or locked, check compatibility first, because the 2026 network switch left some devices unable to connect.
Alternatives to Lyca Mobile
- Ultra Mobile Also built for international callers, with calling to 90+ destinations, and it runs on T-Mobile's network if your phone does not work with Lyca's new SIM.
- Mint Mobile Cheaper per month if you can prepay a year and rarely call abroad. Read review
- Visible Unlimited data on Verizon's network with taxes included, for people who need more data than international minutes. Read review
- Wi-Fi calling apps WhatsApp, Viber and similar apps call family abroad free over Wi-Fi, which can let you choose a cheaper plan without international minutes.
Lyca Mobile reviews
Written by readers, read by our moderators, never edited by the company.
No reader reviews yet. If you have used Lyca Mobile, yours will be the first.
Write a reviewHow do I know I can trust these reviews about Lyca Mobile?
- Every reviewer confirms an email address before a review can publish.
- Our moderators read every review before it publishes.
- Companies can respond publicly but can never edit, hide or remove a review.
- Paying BestGuide never changes the reader rating or which reviews publish.
Frequently asked questions
What network does Lyca Mobile use?
Lyca ran on T-Mobile for years, but it ended activations of its T-Mobile SIMs in September 2025 and required customers to swap SIMs by April 15, 2026. Lyca's site refers only to a "Network Supplier"; industry reports say it signed with AT&T.
Is Lyca Mobile still on T-Mobile?
Not for new SIMs. Lyca customers on its old T-Mobile SIMs were told to replace them before a cutoff that was extended to April 15, 2026.
How much is Lyca Mobile a month?
Plans run from $19 to $39 for 5 GB to 25 GB, and Unlimited Plus and Pro list at $49 and $59 regular prices with discounts to $18 and $29.50. A 5% regulatory recovery fee and taxes are added to website purchases.
Which countries can I call with Lyca Mobile?
Lyca's main plans include unlimited talk and text to 100 countries, including Mexico and Canada. The list is on the plan page; calls to countries not listed use international credit.
Does Lyca Mobile have a contract?
No. Lyca is prepaid with no contract and no credit check. Each plan lasts 30 days and you recharge to continue.
Does Lyca Mobile support eSIM?
Yes, Lyca sells eSIMs for compatible phones. eSIM activation delays are one of the more common complaints, so allow time before you need the line.
What happens if I don't recharge Lyca Mobile?
Your plan stops after 30 days. If the SIM goes unused for 60 days, the SIM and phone number expire and the number can be reassigned, and any remaining credit is not refunded.
How do I contact Lyca Mobile customer service?
Call 1-866-277-3221 or use the support options on lycamobile.us. Reviewers report long waits, so try the online account for recharges and plan changes.
Can I keep my number with Lyca Mobile?
Yes, you can port your number during activation with your old carrier's account number and transfer PIN. Keep the old service active until the transfer completes.
Does Lyca Mobile include hotspot?
Lyca's 2026 plan guide lists hotspot allowances from 8 GB to 25 GB depending on the plan, but some plan fine print says tethering is not permitted. Check the terms for the exact plan before you rely on hotspot.
Sources (12)
Facts on this page come from company websites, government agencies and regulators, checked on the dates shown. Editorial standards
- Lyca Mobile: Prepaid plans and terms and conditions (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Lyca Mobile blog: USA's best prepaid phone plans, a 2026 guide (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Lyca Mobile: Network management policy (accessed October 12, 2026)
- NWIDA: The (T-Mobile) end is near for Lyca (September 8, 2025) (accessed October 12, 2026)
- NWIDA: Lyca T-Mobile shut-off date announced (updated March 23, 2026) (accessed October 12, 2026)
- NWIDA: More Lyca news, AT&T deal report (September 3, 2024) (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Lyca Mobile USA reviews (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Apple App Store: Lyca Mobile US (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Ultra Mobile: Plans (Wayback Machine copy, July 14, 2026) (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Mint Mobile: Plans (Wayback Machine copy, October 8, 2026) (accessed October 12, 2026)
- Visible: Plans (accessed October 12, 2026)
- FCC: Consumer complaint center (accessed October 12, 2026)
BestGuide is free to use. Some companies we review pay us when you visit their site or contact them through us. Compensation may influence which companies we feature and their order. It doesn't change what our reviews say. Advertising disclosure
